Home style English mustard paste

IMG_20170708_105419_HDRwtr

At the 1st instance, I must thank Cathryn Grace for sharing this wonderful and useful recipe. I was wanting to prepare this condiment and when came across Cathryn’s Blog I got the solution to my desire. It is explained so nicely with dos and don’ts.  I visited Kris Bordessa’s Recipe also, from where Cathryn was inspired. I mixed and matched both the methods and the ingredients as per my choice, and did it.

If use it rightly, can take any dish to another level. My family is big fan of this condiment. I use it as spread (light) on my sandwiches, Salads, marinate, dip. When mixed with Meyo or hung curd,, it tastes awesome.

In the month of May I was in France and it is the flowering season there. While on highway, from Paris to Switzerland, I came across few  Mustard fields. The flowers were bright yellow and beside the deep green fields, it was brighter. I thought of the famous Dijon mustard of France. Actually, there itself I had decided to study this recipe and try my hands on it when back home.

Actually in Bengali family, use of mustard paste is not a new thing. Freshly grounded mustard  paste is used in regular Bengali dishes from Veg to Non veg . Whole mustard is called Shorshe.  Similar kind of mustard based condiment Kasundi, is being made in Bengal  from Centuries. Grannies of every Bengali household knew the secret recipe and how to preserve it for years without using any preservatives. These days it has become a popular condiment. Thanks to contemporary culinary experts  The condiment which was once seen only in Bengali kitchen, now has made its place in Five Star Hotels. However,  other than mustard, all other ingredients used in Kasundi and Dijon mustard are different.

I am sharing the recipe for Home style Mustard paste.

Ingredients:

IMG_20170704_121815

  1. Yellow mustard – ½ cup
  2. Black Mustard – ½ cup
  3. Apple cidar vinegar – ½ cup
  4. White wine – ½ cup
  5. Kosher salt- 1 tspn(optional)
  6. Turmeric- ½ tspn(Optional)
  7. Olive oil 2 tblspn.
  8. Glass Jar with tight lid.

Method:

IMG_20170704_130308

Wash the mustard in water. Strain it and dry it. In a Glass Jar put the mustard seeds. Pour the vinegar and the wine.

IMG_20170704_130421

Put the lid and keep it for 3-4 days for soaking.  After 4 days you will find the mustard has  absorbed most of the liquid.

IMG_20170707_160939_HDR

After 4 days make paste of these seeds in a food processor or in a wet grinder.

IMG_20170708_105018_HDR

Transfer it in the glass jar. Put the lid and keep it in fridge for 24 hrs. before use.

You can store it in fridge for long.

Note: I like the yellow colour of mustard paste.   I have added turmeric powder and olive oil in it before refrigerating it for 24 hrs.

 

13 Comments Add yours

  1. joyeeta81 says:

    Super tasty!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Megala says:

    Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Megala for liking my posts. Cheers!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. blondieaka says:

    I always make my own mustard…slightly different recipe but very nice ..will never buy a shop one again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too. I prefer making all condiments and spice mix at home.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. blondieaka says:

        Someone asked me if the cream cheese was like Paneer or ricotta..Is it? please

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It is kind of creamed paneer only. But it has to be creamed immediately after curdling the milk.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. blondieaka says:

        I make all mine as well.. Chettinad, masala I make them and they are easy and it uses the spices up quicker..Just not sure what all the different chillis are you use but learning…lol

        Liked by 1 person

      4. For robust red colour we use kashmiri mirch. For heat we take, bird eyes chili or himachal chilis. All dried one for making spice.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. blondieaka says:

        Thank you ..Reena 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

