Tagliatelle in basil & tomato sauce

IMG_20170613_212434finly

Any time is Pasta time, my family believes in this. Last month we were in Florence and Manila for few days and my daughter went mad trying out as many varieties of Pastas as possible in that short time.  Since we had a return flight from Manila, I quickly picked up few varieties of Pasta, Italian Seasoning and most importantly good Parmesan Cheese.  My daughter picked up  tagliatelle pasta.  I decided to cook today. But my daughter wanted to try her hand in the kitchen and declared that she will prepare it. She googled for the recipes and finally could decide on 2 sauces. One for her father who is fond of pasta in spicy tangy red sauce. She herself prefers white creamy sauce with some meat in it. So today its dinner with pasta in 2 types of sauce, red & white. I insisted she should start preparation well in time otherwise it will be late for dinner. I knew she will take minimum help from me. I thought I shall only click step by step pictures and post in my blog and side by side I can check if she is going right. She hardly goes into the kitchen and do not know whereabouts of the ingredients. So silently I kept all ingredients, knives, cheese, oil on the kitchen self. She was not happy on seeing this and insisted she want to do everything herself and I should not interfere.   I agreed and watched her silently and clicked picture. Oh my God!! she did so well. The food was ultimate! Home style Pasta, could not have been better than this.She made me proud of her another talent. I must share both the recipes.  First I shall share the vegetarian Pasta in Red sauce.

Ingredients:

IMG_20170613_203452

  1. Tagliatelle pasta 50 gms, 1 of 4 bunches in picture below

IMG-20170620-WA0002

  1. Blanched Tomato 4 or tomato Cancassa 2 cups
  2. Handful of Basil Leaves
  3. Black Pepper 1 tspn
  4. Olive oil 1 tbspn
  5. Extra virgin olive oil 1 tspn
  6. Sliced garlic 1 tbspn
  7. Green beans halved ½ cup (Steamed)
  8. Parmesan cheese grated 2 tbspn
  9. Red Chili flakes(optional)
  10. Kosher salt 1 tspn

Method:

Boil water with ½ tspn salt in it. Add pasta and cook it till soft. Be careful it should not be overcooked.

Strain the pasta and reserve ½ cup of pasta water separately.

Chop the blanched tomato or if u have tomato cancussa, use it.

 

In a pan, put olive oil and lightly brown the sliced garlic. Add tomato and salt and cook it covered in slow flame till the tomatoes are soft.

 

Add the beans and cook for some times.  Now put basil leaves and parmesan cheese. Cook for 2 mins.

 

Add the boiled Tagliatelle pasta. Mix well with the sauce. Sprinkle black pepper and if want it hot add red chili flakes. Taste the seasoning.

IMG_20170613_211859

Take off from stove serve hot.  Garnish with grated parmesan cheese, basil leaves and spoon the extra virgin olive oil.

IMG_20170613_212434finly

One Comment Add yours

  1. joyeeta81 says:

    Enhance your day with this super easy, colorful, tangy, basil flavored parmesan tagliatelle!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

